Skip to header Skip to main content Skip to footer
Helpful Village logo
Donate Now
Add me to your mailing list

Staff and Board of Directors



Pam Troutman, Executive Director

Pam Troutman joined Waterfront Village as the Assistant Director in June 2021 and  became the Executive Director in January 2024. Prior to over a decade as a teacher, Pam oversaw two programs in Philadelphia, the In-Home Support Program and the Family Caregiver Program, both of which supported individuals and families who were aging in place. Pam has a Master's degree in Social Work from Catholic University. When she is not working at the Village she is usually spending time with family and friends and walking her senior dog, Honey.



Tricia Johnson, Assistant Director

Patricia Johnson spent the majority of her career in communications, event planning and fundraising in television, corporate and political environments. The U.S Congress earmarked 3m for a non profit she created to support families of deployed Soldiers. She continued her work in the military through a world wide Army Chaplain program, Franklin Covey and a medical non profit providing medical innovations for wounded military. Prior to joining Waterfront Village, she handled communications and fundraising for a wide variety of non-profits. She is the mother of 5 outstanding human beings and enjoys seeing DC from the seat of her bike.




Board of Directors

Board Members Andy Peers, Caroline Ashe, Peter Eicher, Carroll Quinn,

Ardith Harle, Diane Renzulli, Judith Winston, Ed Peterman, James Burleson

-missing Carol Cowgill who joined in 2024


Peter Eicher, President, joined the Board in 2019 and is a retired U.S. Foreign Service Officer who subsequently worked for the United Nations and other organizations on international human rights issues. A longtime resident of Southwest with his wife Stephanie, Peter is President of Friends of Southwest and involved with other volunteer work as well.

Caroline Ashe, Board Member, joined the Board in 2022 and is experienced working in private, nonprofit and government organizations.  In addition, she has served as a board member for several organizations.  Caroline enjoys spending time with the members of the Village and actively engages in other volunteer activities in her local community.  

James Burleson, Board Member, joined the board in 2018, and is serving his second term. He brings extensive public service experience to the board, having served in prominent roles at the U.S. Department of the Treasury and the Internal Revenue Service, as president of the local chapter of the National Treasury Employees Union, president of the Town Square Towers' condominium association, and as a longstanding volunteer with the Congressional Black Caucus and the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation. For 40 years, James has delighted audiences worldwide as a choral singer and member of the Washington Performing Arts Society. He has lived in Southwest for 25 years.

Carol Cowgill served on the Board from 2017–19 and re-joined for a second term in 2024.  A resident of SW since 1976, Carol served for many years on both the Capitol Park IV and THM4 boards.  Carol retired from the EPA Office of General Counsel in 2007 and after a couple of joint replacements, she continues to enjoy yoga, weight training, swimming, and downhill skiing.

Ardith Harle, Board Member, joined the board in 2022 to complete the term of a retired board member.  Ardith has an extensive background in education, as a classroom teacher, elementary school principal, and a college professor. In addition, she has previously served on a preschool board, volunteered in her county library system and at the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History. Ardith enjoys quilting, knitting, reading, and travel.

Andy Peers, Board Member, joined the board in 2018 and serves the neighborhood as a realtor at Compass Real Estate, who specializing in Southwest DC, Andy frequently connects the Village with local service providers, potential sponsors, and prospective members. He has lived in Southwest for fifteen years.

Ed Peterman, Board Member, joined the board in 2019.  As a Certified Senior Advisor, he founded TrustEd Champions for Seniors, which helps seniors with home, health, and estate issues. Ed also brings to the board decades of federal leadership experience focusing on ethics and compliance. He has lived on Capitol Hill since since 1996.

Diane Renzulli, Secretary, joined the board in 2021 and brings to the board a background in public health, gerontology, and communications. She has lived in Navy Yard since 2015.

Judith Winston, Treasurer, joined the board in 2019 and shares what she has learned through decades of experience in law, education, and civil rights with the Board on behalf of the Village. She and her husband Michael moved to Southwest in 2017.


Non-Board Officers

Angela Beckham, Senior Financial Advisor

Barb Rehm, Assistant Secretary to the Board


Emeritus President

Carroll Quinn

Anne Martin

Barbara Ehrlich